A visit To A Home On A Parcela

A ‘parcela’ means a large plot of land in the suburbs or outskirts of a city. They’re usually very big plots….going into acres of land. Back home, they’re called ‘farm houses’ even though there’s no real farm or farming happening on the land.

This was the first time I was visiting one which was private; the family lives there. Many such places are either rented out during vacations to tourists or then they’ve been commercialized as party venues with a crew of party planners who do everything for you. So, this was a first for me and I loved the place that was nestled in the lap of nature, so to say, and our hosts were gracious people.

Here are a few pictures that’ll take you on a tour around the house; no inside pics…it is a private residence! Even so, I’d like to add, the interiors were done up beautifully and tastefully.

fullsizerender

We drive up to the house (parking)

fullsizerender-2

Our hostess walks us along the driveway to the entrance….but we stop on the way to pluck a type of maracuja off the tree, and proceed to taste the fruit before we go ahead…no fruit gets fresher than this – fresh, off the tree, and sun-ripened fruit!

fullsizerender-1

One of the dogs accompanies us to the door.

fullsizerender-19

The part of the casa that opens out onto spreading green foliage – garden, tall trees…awesome place!

fullsizerender-4

Looking out at the far boundaries of the property, from the terrace.

fullsizerender-6

View on the left…

fullsizerender-7

Terrace sit-out…loved it!

fullsizerender-5

The outdoor barbecue area with picnic table and benches.

img_1845

The pool was so inviting!

fullsizerender-9

We come down to walk around and feel the beauty of nature envelope us.

fullsizerender-13

The patio…

fullsizerender-10

Patio…

fullsizerender-15

This little one was the cutest of the three dogs and was aware of it!

fullsizerender-16

fullsizerender-18

Rows of fabulous white roses.

fullsizerender-20

I couldn’t help clicking this!

fullsizerender-11

The Maracuja tree that stopped us in our tracks and got us eating the (unforbidden) fruit! That yellow submarine shaped thing hanging behind the flowers is a kind of maracuja.

fullsizerender-8

That’s what we were munching on…bright, orangey flesh, full of little seeds!

img_1847

Walking down a path lined with white rose bushes to see the vegetable patch and nursery.

fullsizerender-21

A closer look at the lovely barbecue area…

fullsizerender-23

I had a moment of fright and panic on the patio where I was relaxing with my legs stretched out…you don’t see it? A lizard! And I’m terrified of these creepy crawlies… :O

fr-wordpress

But my attraction to natural beauty got the better of me…I picked up courage and myself…crept fairly close and clicked a pic of this gorgeously coloured creature….(but I still remain terrified of lizards!)

fullsizerender-25

The three musketeers…one, the German Shepherd, doesn’t belong to the family, but you’d never know! He spends his entire day here and retires to his own home and family at night!

In retrospect, though I love the countryside (I’ve lived in one such place, back home) and at the time, as I was soaking in nature’s delightful ambiance; the peace and quiet…was so inviting and encompassing that I wanted to stay there forever, I know I can’t do that. I love the countryside, the wide open spaces, the tranquility – but I’m a city girl at heart. No, I don’t have a hectic social life and a nightlife on the town is non-existent. But I do prefer to live in a city and take frequent trips to relax in the quieter areas of the place…a get-away place! I’d feel pretty isolated if I were to live forever in a house on a parcela, however beautiful, attractive, and comfortable it was.

 

Leave a Reply

